Twitter could be a deciding factor in national award

In 2006 insurance giant, Liberty Mutual, established an annual NCAA Coach of the Year Award recognizing the top coaches from each of the NCAA’s four divisions.

Coaches are judged on four different criteria: sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and overall excellence. Winners are decided by the College Hall of Fame Selection Committee votes (55%), then by national media vote (25%), and lastly by fan vote (20%).

The reciepient of the award for their respective division receives $50,000 to donate to the charity of their choice and a $20,000 grant for their school’s alumni association as well as the Coach of the Year trophy.

This year, Mary Hardin-Baylor’s head football coach, Pete Fredenburg, is running for Division III Coach of the Year. The man behind the 139-33 overall record is up for recognition for his work in building the Crusader football program from the ground up.

“I think Coach Fredenburg’s record speaks for itself…. If you look at what he’s done since he’s been here, it’s hard to fi nd anyone else that has had more success than he has,” said Vice President for Athletics Randy Mann.

Fredenburg is in his 32nd year of collegiate coaching.

The college coaching experience includes a 13-year tenure at Baylor University, a year at Louisiana State University, three at Louisiana Tech University and, of course, 15 years at UMHB.

Fredenburg has received several accolades in his career as a coach including six ASC Coach of the Year awards, American Football Coaches Association regional coach of the year fi ve times and a position on the AFCA board of trustees.

Despite the long list of honors, Fredenburg exemplifies a Christian humility. “I’m the head coach and get the acclaim, but I wouldn’t do anything without good players and good coaches,” he said. “Anytime we get any award, it’s a team award.”

His strategy is admired by many but none more than by his son and colleague, Cody Fredenburg.

“His coaching style, in my opinion as someone who was looking to get in to the profession, is a great example,” Cody said. “One that any young coach would want to emulate.”

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award is swayed by public vote. On twitter, fans can cast their vote once per day by tweeting the full name of the coach and university to @lmcoachofyear, tagging #COTY2012 and pasting the website on the tweet, The format must be correct to count as a vote.

Fredenburg is currently in 6th place for Division III, and voting ends Dec. 6.

Author: Christian Hernandez

Bio info coming soon!

Share This Post On


Commenting Policy
We welcome your comments on news and opinions articles, provided that they allowed by our Commenting Policy.