The Wise Man’s Fear: Journey of a hero

Good things come to those who wait.

At least, that’s what readers of Patrick Rothfuss’ latest installment in his Kingkiller Chronicles hope to be true.

The Wise Man’s Fear comes out nearly four years after the first book in the series, The Name of the Wind, which became a New York Times best-seller.

The last book in the trilogy is yet unnamed and has no release date as of now.

Rothfuss’ chronicles are about the biography of Kvothe, an adventurer, arcanist and famous musician.

The plot is essentially divided into two different action threads: the present, where Kvothe tells the story of his life to Devan Lochees (known as the Chronicler) and Kvothe’s past where most of the story is located.

Rothfuss has been keeping his readers and fans updated via his blog. In a post Jan. 17, 2008, just a year after the publication of the first book, Rothfuss announced a delay in the next installment’s release.

He ardently apologized, writing, “I’m sorry. We were sure we could have book two out in a year, but it just wasn’t the case ….Book two has been delayed. It was unavoidable, and I am sorry.”

Rothfuss explained several reasons for the delay of the book’s release.

Rothfuss clarified, “There’s a HUGE difference between a story that’s finished, and one that is polished, revised, and refined into something really, really good.”

Rothfuss’s trilogy was originally written in one large book, thus the books were essentially “finished” long ago.

“They had a beginning, a middle, and an ending. They probably could have been published, and people would have liked them fairly well, but they would not have been the best book possible,” he said. “And that’s what I want to write for you …. I want to give you a great book. A book that is as perfect as I can possibly make it. I want you to read it and laugh, and cry and be horrified.”

In the second book, The Wise Man’s Fear, Kvothe takes his first steps on the path of becoming the hero and learns how hard it is to become a legend in his time.

An escalating rivalry with a powerful member of nobility forces Kvothe to leave the University, a place of higher learning and where many people come to study.

Kvothe is determined to seek his fortune abroad. Adrift, penniless and alone, he travels to Vintas, where he quickly becomes entangled in the politics of courtly society.

Any worries that The Wise Man’s Fear might not become as popular as the first book were dismissed when the second book claimed a spot in’s top 100 before the book was even officially released.

Publishers Weekly praised the book, saying, “This breathtakingly epic story is heartrending in its intimacy and masterful in its narrative essence and will leave fans waiting on tenterhooks for the final installment.”

Author: Stephen Webster

Bio info coming soon!

Share This Post On


Commenting Policy
We welcome your comments on news and opinions articles, provided that they allowed by our Commenting Policy.